FAQ – Frequently asked questions

EURES Switzerland Services

Can EURES Switzerland help me find a job in Switzerland?
EURES Switzerland does not provide staffing services.

However, available vacancies in Switzerland can be consulted in the Jobseekers section (direct link: https://www.job-room.ch, available in GE/FR/IT) of our website.

We also recommend that you register with private staffing agencies: http://www.avg-seco.admin.ch, available in GE/FR/IT).

Unfortunately, we are unable to provide you with a list of employers, but you can search for jobs by linguistic region using the links below.

Can EURES Switzerland help me find a job in EU/EFTA countries?

EURES Switzerland does not provide staffing services.

You can visit our website at www.eures.ch/en/jobseu/information/ for general information on living and working in EU/EFTA countries.

Visit the EURES portal at https://ec.europa.eu/ ffor job vacancies in all EU/EFTA countries.

EURES advisers are available in each EU/EFTA country to provide more specific answers according to your personal circumstances (https://ec.europa.eu/eures/eures-apps/um/page/public?lang=en#/adviser/search/list). The EURES advisers of the country you wish to work in can provide guidance on how to compile job applications that are sensitive to the particular business culture.

For more information, please contact the EURES adviser for your canton.www.eures.ch/en/what/contacts/ .

Can EURES Switzerland help me prepare my curriculum vitae?

EURES Switzerland does not help candidates prepare their curriculum vitae. However, the following link provides useful information on how to put together a successful job application in Switzerland. http://www.eures.ch/en/downloads/brochures/tipp/.

Where can I obtain official recognition of my professional qualifications?
EURES Switzerland does not offer any services related to the recognition of foreign qualifications.

The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) evaluates professional qualifications and issues equivalency certificates. For more information, visit www.sbfi.admin.ch/sbfi/en/home/topics/recognition-of-foreign-qualifications.html.


Residence permits

On 9 February 2014, the popular initiative "Stop mass immigration" was approved by referendum. Can I still work in Switzerland?

Yes,as the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) is still in effect. The Federal Council has three years from the time of the referendum to introduce a new quota system for foreign workers. Until this new law takes effect, the rights of EU/EFTA nationals remain unchanged.

Do I have to secure a job before coming to Switzerland, or can I look for one after arriving ?

EU-27 (excluding Croatia)/EFTA nationals can search for a job after arriving in Switzerland. No permit is required for stays of less than three months. If no job is found within this time, the municipal or cantonal authorities will issue a short-term residence permit (EU/EFTA L permit) for the following three months.

EU-2 nationals (Bulgarians and Romanians) who would like to work in Switzerland are subject to current transitional provisions, namely the priority of the domestic workforce, salary and employment conditions, and a quota. A work and residence permit is always required for EU-2 nationals to work in Switzerland.

Work and residence permits must be issued by the appropriate cantonal employment authorities. Please refer to the questions under "Taking up residence and gainful employment").

I would like to work in Switzerland. How do I obtain a work permit?

For EU-27 (excluding Croatia)/EFTA nationals, your residence permit doubles as your work permit. However, this permit is only issued if you have a contractual statement from your employer or an employment contract. FAQ SEM: "Taking up residence and gainful employment").

I have found a job in Switzerland. What must I do to obtain a residence permit?
EU-27 (excluding Croatia)/EFTA

Employment for less than three months

EU-27/EFTA nationals working in Switzerland for no longer than three months per calendar year do not require a permit. However, they must still register with authorities through their employer. Additional information on registration.
Link to the registration:Notification procedures

Employment for more than three months

EU-27/EFTA nationals must register with municipal authorities at their place of residence and apply for a residence permit within 14 days of arrival, before beginning their jobYou must show a valid identification card or passport as well as a valid contractual statement or employment contract signed by the employer, indicating the employment duration and work-time percentage. Depending on the employment duration, authorities will issue a short-term residence permit (EU/EFTA L permit for periods of four months to 364 days) or a regular residence permit (EU/EFTA B permit for periods of one year or more).

You may begin the process for obtaining a residence permit once you have arrived in Switzerland. For information on the customs formalities required when importing your personal belongings, please visit the following page: Swiss Customs Administration

FAQ SEM.

Romania and Bulgaria (EU-2)

Employment with Swiss employer

Please note that, from June 1 2017 and for a year, Swiss and EU-25/EFTA nationals are given priority over you. This means employers must try to fill vacant positions with Swiss or EU-25/EFTA nationals before they can consider your application. If you are indeed hired, it is the employer's responsibility to apply for a work permit on your behalf from the relevant cantonal authorities
(Cantonal labour market authorities). To do so, your employer will be required to submit your employment contract.

Authorities base their decisions on the current transitional provisions regarding the following points:

  • Priority of domestic workforce:
    The employer must demonstrate that the position could not be filled with an equivalent candidate already authorised to work in Switzerland.
  • Salary and employment conditions:
    The contractual provisions must meet the conditions customary for the region and sector.
  • Quota:
    Only a limited number of permits are available. No permit will be granted if the quota has been filled.

If all of the above conditions are met, the permit may be granted. Please note, however, you are not automatically entitled to a permit. EU-2 nationals must have a work/residence permit to begin working for a Swiss employer. No exceptions will be made.

FAQ SEM: www.sem.admin.ch/sem/en/home/themen/fza_schweiz-eu-efta/eu-efta_buerger_schweiz/faq.html.

As a Croatian national, can I work in Switzerland?

Croatia's entry into the EU on 1 July 2013 has no bearing on the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) between Switzerland and the EU. The extension of the AFMP to Croatia was negotiated in protocol III, which came into force on 1 January 2017. During the first implementation period, special transitory measures with quotas and restrictions regarding the access to the labour market are applied on Croatian nationals.

More information regarding the admission of Croatian nationals in the factsheet "Croatia".
Press Release of 16 December 2016
Procedure

I am not a European national, but I have a residence permit for an EU/EFTA country. Do I need a work permit in Switzerland?

Yes, you still need a work permit even if you have an EU/EFTA residence permit. This requirement is based on your nationality. The admission of foreign workers into Switzerland is governed by a two-tier system. While EU/EFTA nationals can take advantage of the benefits of the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP), Switzerland only admits a limited number of workers from other countries, all of which are managers, specialists or other highly skilled personnel.

Third-state nationals are only admitted if the position cannot be filled by applicants from the Swiss or EU/EFTA labour markets. Priority is given to Swiss nationals, foreigners residing permanently in Switzerland, foreigners with a residence permit obtained for employment purposes and any national of countries party to the Agreement on Free Movement of Persons (currently the EU and EFTA). The employer must prove that he/she was unable to find a suitable candidate among the priority groups listed above despite his/her best efforts.

For more information, please visit the following pages:

Work: Legal basis for access to the Swiss labour market by foreign nationals
Entry: State Secretariat for Migration
FAQ – Frequently asked questions - SEM

A Swiss employer has asked me to send copies of my documents as well as money for residence permit fees. What should I do?

For EU-27 nationals

Always exercise caution when an employer contacts you by email requesting that you send copies of your identity papers and money for a residence permit. It could be a scam. In general, the employee must apply for his/her residence permit in person at the appropriate cantonal office. For a job lasting less than three months per year, it is the employer's responsibility to complete the registration procedure. Registration is usually free of charge. If any fees are incurred, they must be paid by the employer.

In any case, never give anyone your passport or identity card, and do not email copies of your passport or identity card without first verifying with EURES Switzerland or a Swiss trade union that the company is trustworthy.

For EU-2 nationals (Romania and Bulgaria)

Unlike EU-27 nationals, EU-2 nationals cannot apply for a work permit themselves. Rather, their employer must go to the appropriate cantonal authorities and apply on their behalf. This involves an application fee, which your employer may ask you to cover. For your protection, we recommend that you send the money only after you have received your work permit. If you have doubts about the amount you are being asked to pay, please contact EURES Switzerland or a Swiss trade union.

Unemployment insurance

I am a Swiss national living in the EU, and I have lost my job. Am I entitled to Swiss unemployment benefits?

If you return to Switzerland without first registering with the unemployment authorities of the country in which you were last employed, you will not be entitled to unemployment benefits in Switzerland. You can request European form PDU1 to certify your periods of employment in the EU country. If you remain unemployed in Switzerland, these periods can be added to any employed periods in Switzerland.

However, if you registered with the unemployment authorities of the country in which you were last employed and, as a result, receive unemployment benefits from them, , you can import these benefits to Switzerland. This requires European form PDU2. Benefits can be imported to Switzerland from EU countries for three to six months, depending on the EU country.

For more information, please contact the public employment services of the country in which you were last employed.

I am an EU national with an employment contract in Switzerland for less than one year. Am I entitled to unemployment benefits if I stay in Switzerland once my contract expires?

You may be. To receive unemployment benefits in Switzerland, you must prove that you were employed for at least 12 months. Although your job in Switzerland is less than a full year, you may still be able to meet this requirement. You can request European form PDU1 in the EU country where you worked before coming to Switzerland. This form certifies your periods of employment in that country, which will be added to the periods worked in Switzerland. If the total meets or exceeds 12 months, you are eligible for unemployment benefits in Switzerland.

For more information, please visit www.treffpunkt-arbeit.ch/publikationen/broschueren (available in GE/FR/IT).

I am an EU national living in Switzerland. My employment contract expires next month and I would like to return to my country of origin. What do I have to do?

If you return to your country of origin without first registering with Swiss unemployment authorities, you will not be entitled to unemployment benefits. You can request European form PDU1 from a Swiss unemployment office, which will certify your periods of employment in Switzerland. If you remain unemployed in your country of origin, these periods can be added to any periods during which you were previously employed there.

However, if you registered with Swiss unemployment authorities and, as a result, receive Swiss unemployment benefits, you can import these benefits to your country of origin. This requires European form PDU2. Swiss unemployment benefits can be exported to an EU country for a maximum of three months.

For more information, please visit: http://www.treffpunkt-arbeit.ch/publikationen/broschueren(available in GE/FR/IT).

Health insurance

Is health insurance mandatory in Switzerland?

Yes, health insurance is mandatory in Switzerland.

You must have health insurance if:

  • You are domiciled in Switzerland, regardless of nationality. Health insurance must be obtained for each member of the family, adult or child. There is no collective family coverage
  • You have a residence permit for three months or longer
  • You work in Switzerland for less than three months and your health insurance at home does not meet Swiss requirements
  • You are a Swiss or EU/EFTA national working in Switzerland, and you are domiciled in the EU, Iceland or Norway. This also applies to unemployed members of your family
  • You are a Swiss or EU/EFTA national receiving a Swiss pension only, and you are domiciled in the EU, Iceland or Norway. This also applies to unemployed members of your family
  • You are receiving unemployment benefits in Switzerland, and you travel to an EU/EFTA country for three months in search of a job
  • You are temporarily posted abroad by your Swiss employer. You are required to have Swiss health insurance for the duration of your posting. Additional instructions are provided in the information material on social security

For more information, please visit the site of the Federal Office of Public Health, Health insurance, the Essentials in Brief .

Taxes

I am an EU/EFTA national who will be living and working in Switzerland. How do I pay my taxes?

Foreign workers without a permit C (permanent residence permit) are subject to withholding tax. All others file an ordinary tax return as per the usual procedure.

Withholding tax is taken directly from the foreign worker's income, usually through a payroll deduction by the employer. This applies to:

  • Foreign workers who are resident in Switzerland for tax purposes but who do not have a permanent residence permit (permit C)
  • Foreign workers who are not resident in Switzerland for tax purposes but whose income is derived from employment in Switzerland (cross-border commuters, weekend commuters, lecturers, athletes, artists, etc.)
  • In addition, foreign workers domiciled in Switzerland must file a full income and wealth tax return for the preceding year if their annual income exceeds CHF 120,000.

    The withholding tax rate varies from canton to canton. For more information, please contact the appropriate cantonal administration (available in GE/FR/IT).

    Employers

    I run a business in Switzerland and would like to post an employee in an EU/EFTA country for a few months. What do I have to do?

    Under certain conditions, employees temporarily posted to another country are still subject to the social security laws of the sending country. For more information, please refer to the brochures Social Security for Posted Workers between Switzerland and the EU (in German, French or Italian) and and Social Security for Posted Workers between Switzerland and the EFTA (in German, French or Italian).

    I run a business in the EU/EFTA and would like to post an employee to Switzerland for a few months. What do I have to do?

    Information on postings is available online at www.détachement.ch (available in GE/FR/IT) and Posted workers . Both Swiss and foreign employers will find details on employment and salary conditions in Switzerland and its various cantons, along with web addresses and useful links.

    How does Switzerland define illegal employment?

    There is no absolute legal definition of illegal employment. It is generally understood to be salaried or self-employed work that violates legal stipulations. This can range from small-scale artisanal work performed outside of business hours to exclusive, illegal employment that evades tax, social security, anti-trust and especially foreigners-rights laws. The various forms of illegal employment usually exist to avoid taxes either fully or partially.

    The Federal Act on Measures to Combat Illegal Employment (IEA), in effect since 1 January 2008, enables cantonal watchdogs to enforce more effectively various laws on taxes, social security charges and foreigners' rights, to name a few. It also sanctions violations more severely.

    For more information on penalties and sanctions, please visit
    www.sem.admin.ch >Labour / Work permits >Illegal employment (available in GE/FR/IT).
    www.seco.admin.ch, illegal employment(available in GE/FR/IT).

    Cross-border commuters

    Who can apply for a cross-border commuter permit?

    Cross-border commuters are EU/EFTA nationals living in their country of citizenship and working in Switzerland as salaried employees or self-employed individuals with a Swiss-registered business. They must return to their primary residence (outside Switzerland) at least once a week. Cross-border commuters who remain in Switzerland during the week must register with the municipality of their secondary residence. Cross-border permits are issued by the cantonal authorities of the place of work. EU-27/EFTA nationals are no longer restricted to border zones. They may live in any EU/EFTA country and work anywhere in Switzerland. However, EU-2 nationals (Bulgarians and Romanians) must live and work within a border zone.

    Cantonal labour market authorities
    Factsheet on cross-border commuters (French)

    I am a cross-border commuter working in Switzerland. Whom can I contact with my questions?

    If you are or would like to become a cross-border commuter, please visit www.eures.ch/fr/jobsch/info_grenzgaenger (available in DE/FR/IT) to obtain the necessary information.

Logo Eures

FAQ – Häufig gestellte Fragen

Dienstleistungen von EURES Schweiz

Kann mir EURES Schweiz helfen, eine Stelle in der Schweiz zu finden?
EURES Schweiz vermittelt selbst keine Stellen.

Auf unserer Internetseite haben Sie jedoch in der Rubrik für "Stellensuchende" https://www.job-room.ch Zugang zu den in der Schweiz veröffentlichten offenen Stellen.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, sich auch bei privaten Arbeitsvermittlungsstellen anzumelden: http://www.avg-seco.admin.ch.

Wir verfügen leider nicht über Arbeitgeber-Listen. Aber Sie finden untenstehend Links, die Ihnen bei der Stellensuche je nach Sprachregion in der Schweiz nützlich sein werden:

Kann mir EURES Schweiz helfen, eine Stelle in der EU/EFTA zu finden?

EURES Schweiz vermittelt selbst keine Stellen.

Auf unserer Internetseite www.eures.ch/jobseu/informations/ finden Sie jedoch allgemeine Informationen über die Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen in den EU/EFTA-Mitgliedstaaten.

Auf dem EURES-Portal https://ec.europa.eu/ finden Sie die in allen EU/EFTA-Mitgliedstaaten veröffentlichten Stellenausschreibungen.

In allen EU/EFTA-Mitgliedstaaten gibt es EURES-Beratende, die Ihnen gezielt auf Ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnittene Auskunft geben können (https://ec.europa.eu/eures/eures-apps/um/page/public?lang=de#/adviser/search/list). Die EURES-Beratenden Ihres Ziellandes können Ihnen nützliche Informationen zur Erstellung Ihres Bewerbungsdossiers geben, damit es den Gepflogenheiten des dortigen Arbeitsmarktes entspricht.

Wenn Sie nähere Informationen wünschen, können Sie sich an einen EURES-Berater in Ihrem Kanton wenden:http://www.eures.ch/what/contacts/ .

Kann mir EURES Schweiz helfen, meinen Lebenslauf zu erstellen?

Diese Dienstleistung bietet EURES Schweiz nicht an. Aber auf der folgenden Internetseite finden Sie alle erforderlichen Informationen zur Erstellung einer guten Bewerbung für die Schweiz: http://www.eures.ch/downloads/brochures/tipp/.

Wo kann ich mein Diplom anerkennen lassen?
Für die Anerkennung ausländischer Diplome ist EURES Schweiz nicht zuständig.

Das Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) prüft die Berufsabschlüsse und bestätigt deren Gleichwertigkeit. Weitere Auskünfte erhalten Sie unter folgendem Link: www.sbfi.admin.ch/sbfi/de/home/themen/diploma.html.

Aufenthaltsbewilligung

Am 9. Februar 2014 hat die Schweizer Bevölkerung die Volksinitiative "Gegen Masseneinwanderung" " angenommen. Kann ich noch in der Schweiz arbeiten?

Ja. Das Personenfreizügigkeitsabkommen (FZA) ist derzeit noch gültig. Der Bundesrat ist verpflichtet, innerhalb von drei Jahren nach der Abstimmung ein neues System der Zulassung ausländischer Arbeitskräfte einzuführen. Bis das neue Gesetz in Kraft tritt, haben die Bürgerinnen und Bürger der EU/EFTA-Mitgliedstaaten dieselben Rechte wie bisher.

Muss ich vor der Einreise in die Schweiz eine Stelle finden oder kann ich vor Ort eine Stelle suchen?

EU-27/EFTA-Staatsangehörige (ohne Kroatien) können zur Stellensuche in die Schweiz einreisen. Für einen Aufenthalt bis zu drei Monaten benötigen sie keine Bewilligung. Dauert die Stellensuche länger, so wird von der kommunalen oder kantonalen Behörde eine Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung (Bewilligung L EU/EFTA) zur Stellensuche für weitere drei Monate erteilt.

Die Arbeits- und Aufenthaltsbewilligung muss von der kantonalen Arbeitsmarktbehörde erteilt werden (s. Frage "Aufenthalt mit Erwerbstätigkeit").

Ich würde gern in der Schweiz arbeiten. Wann erhalte ich eine Arbeitsbewilligung?

Bürgerinnen und Bürger aus den EU-27 /EFTA-Mitgliedstaaten (ohne Kroatien) benötigen nur noch eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung. Diese ist gleichzeitig die Arbeitsbewilligung. Eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung wird jedoch erst ausgestellt, wenn die antragstellende Person eine Einstellungserklärung oder eine Arbeitsbescheinigung (Arbeitsvertrag) vorlegt. FAQ SEM:"Aufenthalt mit Erwerbstätigkeit").

Ich habe in der Schweiz eine Stelle gefunden. Wie muss ich vorgehen, um eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung zu erhalten?
EU-27 (ohne Kroatien)/EFTA

Erwerbstätigkeit bis 3 Monate

EU-27/EFTA-Angehörige mit Erwerbstätigkeit in der Schweiz können sich während drei Monaten im Kalenderjahr ohne ausländerrechtliche Bewilligung hier aufhalten. Sie sind jedoch verpflichtet, sich über ihren Arbeitgeber anzumelden. Mehr Informationen zur Meldepflicht.
Link zur Meldepflicht: Meldeverfahren

Erwerbstätigkeit ab 3 Monaten

Innerhalb von 14 Tagen nach ihrer Ankunft in der Schweiz und vor Stellenantritt müssen sich die Bürgerinnen und Bürger der EU-27/EFTA bei ihrer Wohngemeinde anmelden und eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung beantragen. Eine gültige Identitätskarte (oder Pass) sowie eine schriftliche, vom Arbeitgeber unterzeichnete Einstellungserklärung oder Arbeitsbescheinigung (Arbeitsvertrag mit angegebener Dauer der Anstellung und Arbeitspensum) sind vorzuweisen. Je nach Dauer des Arbeitsverhältnisses wird eine Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung (Ausweis L EU/EFTA, Dauer des Arbeitsvertrages zwischen 4 Monaten und 364 Tagen) oder eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung (Ausweis B EU/EFTA für eine Vertragsdauer von mindestens einem Jahr) ausgestellt

Die notwendigen Schritte zur Erlangung der Aufenthaltsbewilligung können nach der Ankunft in der Schweiz erledigt werden. Bezüglich der Zollformalitäten beim Grenzübertritt mit dem persönlichen Hausrat bitten wir Sie, folgenden Link zu konsultieren: Eidgenössische Zollverwaltung

FAQ SEM.
Ich bin kroatische/r Staatsangehörige/r. Kann ich in der Schweiz arbeiten?

Am 1. Juli 2013 ist Kroatien der EU beigetreten. Dieser Beitritt hat keinen Einfluss auf das Personenfreizügigkeitsabkommen (FZA) zwischen der Schweiz und der EU. Das bedeutet, dass kroatische Staatsangehörige nicht zu denselben Bedingungen zum schweizerischen Arbeitsmarkt zugelassen werden wie Staatsangehörige der EU-27. Kroatien gilt also als Drittstaat.

Die Zulassung von Staatsangehörigen Kroatiens erfolgt weiterhin nach dem Bundesgesetz über die Ausländerinnen und Ausländer (AuG; SR 142.20). Seit dem 1. Juli 2014 gewährt die Schweiz kroatischen Staatsangehörigen jedoch separate Kontingente für Erwerbstätige.

Fact Sheet Kroatien
Rundschreiben: Kontingente für kroatische Staatsangehörige
Verfahrensablauf

Ich bin kein/e europäische/r Staatsangehörige/r, habe aber eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung für einen EU/EFTA-Mitgliedstaat. Brauche ich für die Schweiz eine Arbeitsbewilligung?

Ja. Sie benötigen eine Arbeitsbewilligung, selbst wenn Sie eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung für einen EU/EFTA-Mitgliedstaat haben. Ihre Staatsangehörigkeit ist ausschlaggebend. Die Schweiz kennt bei der Zulassung ausländischer Arbeitskräfte ein duales System. Erwerbstätige aus den EU/EFTA-Staaten können vom Personenfreizügigkeitsabkommen (FZA) profitieren. Aus allen anderen Staaten werden lediglich in beschränktem Ausmass Führungskräfte, Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten sowie qualifizierte Arbeitskräfte zugelassen.

Die Zulassung von Drittstaatsangehörigen ist erst möglich, wenn auf dem inländischen Arbeitsmarkt und auf den Arbeitsmärkten der EU/EFTA-Länder keine Personen mit Vorrang zur Verfügung stehen. Vorrang geniessen Schweizerinnen und Schweizer, Ausländerinnen und Ausländer mit Niederlassungsbewilligung, Ausländerinnen und Ausländer mit Aufenthaltsbewilligung, die zu einer Erwerbstätigkeit berechtigt, sowie alle Personen aus Staaten, mit denen ein Freizügigkeitsabkommen geschlossen wurde (derzeit EU und EFTA). Die Arbeitgeber müssen den Nachweis erbringen, dass trotz umfassender Suchbemühungen keine geeigneten Arbeitskräfte mit Vorrang rekrutiert werden konnten.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf folgenden Internetseiten:

Arbeit: Grundlagen zur Arbeitsmarktzulassung von ausländischen Personen
Einreise: Staatssekretariat für Migration
FAQ – Häufig gestellte Fragen - SEM

Ein Schweizer Arbeitgeber hat mich gebeten, ihm Kopien meiner Unterlagen zu schicken und ihm Geld für die Kosten der Aufenthaltsbewilligung zu überweisen. Was soll ich tun?

Bürgerinnen und Bürger der EU-27

Wenn Sie ein Arbeitgeber kontaktiert und bittet, ihm Kopien Ihrer Identitätsnachweise und einen Geldbetrag zur Deckung der Kosten der Aufenthaltsbewilligungsbeantragung zu überweisen, seien Sie vorsichtig! Es könnte sich um Betrug handeln. In der Regel erfolgt die Beantragung der Aufenthaltsbewilligung beim zuständigen kantonalen Bundesamt persönlich durch den Arbeitnehmer/die Arbeitnehmerin. Bei einer Erwerbstätigkeit von bis zu 3 Monaten pro Kalenderjahr muss der Arbeitgeber Sie anmelden (Meldeverfahren). Diese Anmeldung ist generell kostenfrei. Sollten Kosten entstehen, sind diese durch den Arbeitgeber zu tragen.

Vertrauen Sie jedoch keinesfalls Ihren Pass/Ihre Identitätskarte Dritten an und übermitteln Sie keine Kopien Ihres Passes/Ihrer Identitätskarte an Dritte, ohne vorher über EURES Schweiz oder einen Schweizer Verband geprüft zu haben, ob das Unternehmen vertrauenswürdig ist.

Arbeitslosenversicherung

Ich bin Schweizer Staatsangehörige/r, lebe in der EU und bin arbeitslos geworden. Habe ich in der Schweiz einen Anspruch auf Leistungen der Arbeitslosenversicherung?

Kehren Sie in die Schweiz zurück, ohne sich vorher bei den Arbeitslosenversicherungs-behörden des Landes zu melden, in dem Sie zuletzt beschäftigt waren, haben Sie keinen Anspruch auf Arbeitslosenentschädigung in der Schweiz. Sie können die Ausstellung des EU-Formulars PDU1 beantragen, mit welchem Ihre Beschäftigungszeiten in diesem Land nachgewiesen werden. Bei Arbeitslosigkeit in der Schweiz können diese Beschäftigungszeiten zu Ihren Beschäftigungszeiten in der Schweiz hinzugerechnet werden.

Wenn Sie jedoch bei den Arbeitslosenversicherungsbehörden des Landes, in dem Sie zuletzt beschäftigt waren, arbeitslos gemeldet sind und dort Arbeitslosenentschädigung erhalten, können Sie diese Leistungen exportieren. Hierfür benötigen Sie das EU-Formular PDU2. Dieser Leistungsexport kann je nach Land zwischen 3 und 6 Monaten in Anspruch genommen werden (bei Export von der EU in die Schweiz = 3 bis 6 Monate).

Mehr Informationen erhalten Sie bei der öffentlichen Arbeitsvermittlung des Landes, in welchem Sie zuletzt beschäftigt waren.

Ich bin EU-Bürger/in und habe in der Schweiz einen Arbeitsvertrag mit einer Dauer von weniger als einem Jahr. Habe ich am Ende des Arbeitsvertrages einen Anspruch auf Arbeitslosenentschädigung, wenn ich in der Schweiz bleibe?

Das kommt darauf an. Um in der Schweiz Anspruch auf Arbeitslosenentschädigung zu haben, muss man eine mindestens 12-monatige unselbständige Erwerbstätigkeit nachweisen. Wenn Ihre letzte Erwerbstätigkeit diese Bedingung nicht erfüllt, besteht dennoch eine Möglichkeit, einen Anspruch geltend zu machen. Sie können in dem EU-Land, in welchem Sie vor der Aufnahme Ihrer Tätigkeit in der Schweiz beschäftigt waren, das EU-Formular PDU1 beantragen. Hiermit werden Ihre Beschäftigungszeiten in diesem Land nachgewiesen. Diese werden Ihren Beschäftigungszeiten in der Schweiz hinzugerechnet. Wenn diese Zeiten insgesamt 12 Monate betragen, können Sie in der Schweiz Arbeitslosenentschädigung erhalten.

Weitere Auskünfte erhalten Sie unter folgendem Link: http://www.treffpunkt-arbeit.ch/publikationen/broschueren.

Ich bin EU-Bürger/in und lebe in der Schweiz. Ich werde meine Stelle in einem Monat verlieren und möchte in mein Heimatland zurückkehren. Was muss ich tun?

Kehren Sie in Ihr Heimatland zurück, ohne sich vorher bei der Arbeitslosenkasse in der Schweiz zu melden, haben Sie keinen Anspruch auf Arbeitslosenentschädigung. Sie können bei einer Schweizer Arbeitslosenkasse das EU-Formular PDU1 beantragen, mit welchem Ihre Beschäftigungszeiten in der Schweiz nachgewiesen werden. Bei Arbeitslosigkeit in Ihrem Heimatland können diese Zeiten zu Ihren Beschäftigungszeiten in Ihrem Heimatland hinzugerechnet werden.

Wenn Sie jedoch bei den Arbeitslosenversicherungsbehörden der Schweiz arbeitslos gemeldet sind und dort Arbeitslosenentschädigung erhalten, können Sie diese Leistungen exportieren. Hierfür benötigen Sie das EU-Formular PDU2. Dieser Leistungsexport kann maximal während 3 Monaten in Anspruch genommen werden (bei Export von der Schweiz in die EU = maximal 3 Monate).

Weitere Auskünfte erhalten Sie unter folgendem Link: http://www.treffpunkt-arbeit.ch/publikationen/broschueren.

Krankenversicherung

Ist die Krankenversicherung obligatorisch in der Schweiz?

Ja, in der Schweiz ist die Krankenversicherung obligatorisch.

Sie müssen sich insbesondere versichern:

  • Wenn Sie in der Schweiz wohnhaft sind (unabhängig von Ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit). Jedes Familienmitglied muss versichert sein, Erwachsene ebenso wie Kinder (es gibt keine Familienversicherung).
  • Wenn Sie über eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung von mindestens drei Monaten verfügen
  • Wenn Sie für kurze Zeit (weniger als drei Monate) in der Schweiz arbeiten und Ihr Versicherungsschutz nicht demjenigen der schweizerischen Krankenversicherung entspricht.
  • Wenn Sie als Schweizer/in oder als EU/EFTA-Staatsangehörige/r in der Schweiz erwerbstätig sind und in einem EU-Mitgliedstaat, in Island oder Norwegen wohnen. Dies gilt auch für Ihre nichterwerbstätigen Familienangehörigen.
  • Wenn Sie die Staatsangehörigkeit der Schweiz oder eines EU/EFTA-Mitgliedstaates haben, in der Schweiz arbeiten und sich Ihr Wohnsitz in einem EU-Mitgliedstaat, Island oder Norwegen befindet. Dies gilt auch für Ihre nichterwerbstätigen Familienangehörigen.
  • Wenn Sie eine Arbeitslosenentschädigung aus der Schweiz beziehen und Sie sich zur Arbeitssuche für drei Monate in einen EU/EFTA-Mitgliedstaat begeben.
  • Wenn Sie für Ihren Schweizer Arbeitgeber vorübergehend in einem anderen Land arbeiten, unterliegen Sie während der Dauer der Entsendung weiterhin der schweizerischen Krankenversicherung. Mehr dazu finden Sie in den Merkblättern zur Sozialen Sicherheit.
  • Weitere Auskünfte erhalten Sie in den FAQ des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit.

Steuern

Ich bin EU-Bürger/in und lebe in der Schweiz. Wo muss ich meine Steuern zahlen?

Ausländische Arbeitnehmende, die keinen Ausweis C (Niederlassungsbewilligung) besitzen, unterliegen der Quellensteuer. Alle weiteren Personen füllen eine Steuererklärung im Rahmen des ordentlichen Veranlagungsverfahrens aus.

Die Quellensteuer wird direkt vom Einkommen der ausländischen Arbeitnehmenden abgezogen. In der Regel erfolgt der Abzug vom Gehalt durch den Arbeitgeber. Betroffen sind ausländische Arbeitnehmende, die

  • ihren steuerrechtlichen Wohnsitz in der Schweiz haben, aber die Niederlassungsbewilligung (Ausweis C) nicht besitzen
  • keinen steuerrechtlichen Wohnsitz in der Schweiz haben, aber Einkünfte aus einer in der Schweiz ausgeübten Erwerbstätigkeit beziehen (Grenzgänger, Wochenaufenthalter, Referenten, Sportler, Künstler, usw.)

Falls das Einkommen CHF 120'000 übersteigt, wird für ausländische Arbeitnehmende mit steuerrechtlichem Wohnsitz in der Schweiz eine nachträgliche ordentliche Veranlagung für das gesamte Einkommen und Vermögen durchgeführt.

Die Höhe der Quellensteuer ist kantonal unterschiedlich. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei den entsprechenden kantonalen Steuerverwaltungen.

Arbeitgeber

Ich habe ein Unternehmen in der Schweiz und möchte eine/n meiner Arbeitnehmenden für einige Monate in einen EU/EFTA-Mitgliedstaat entsenden. Was muss ich tun?

Arbeitnehmende, die für ihren Arbeitgeber vorübergehend in einem anderen Land arbeiten, unterliegen weiterhin der Sozialgesetzgebung ihres Heimatlandes, sofern bestimmte Bedingungen erfüllt sind. Mehr dazu finden Sie im Merkblatt Soziale Sicherheit für Entsandte Schweiz - EU.

Ich habe ein Unternehmen in der EU/EFTA und möchte einen meiner Arbeitnehmenden für einige Monate in die Schweiz entsenden. Was muss ich tun?

Die Internetseite www.entsendung.ch ist eine Informationsplattform zum Thema Entsendung. Sowohl Schweizer als auch ausländische Arbeitgeber finden hier Informationen zum Thema Arbeits- und Lohnbedingungen in der Schweiz und in den verschiedenen Kantonen, aber auch Links und Kontaktadressen für zusätzliche Informationen.

Was gilt in der Schweiz als Schwarzarbeit?

Schwarzarbeit ist juristisch nicht einheitlich definiert. Als Schwarzarbeit wird in der Regel eine selbständige oder unselbständige Erwerbstätigkeit bezeichnet, die unter Missachtung der gesetzlichen Vorschriften ausgeübt wird. Dabei erstreckt sich die Bandbreite von kleinen Handwerkerleistungen nach Feierabend bis hin zu ausschliesslicher, illegaler Erwerbstätigkeit unter Umgehung des Steuer-, Sozialversicherungs-, Wettbewerbs- und insbesondere des Ausländerrechts. Gemeinsam ist den meisten Formen der Schwarzarbeit, dass öffentlichrechtliche Abgaben teilweise oder ganz umgangen werden.

Das seit 01.01.2008 geltende Bundesgesetz über Massnahmen zur Bekämpfung der Schwarzarbeit (BGSA) ermöglicht es den kantonalen Kontrollorganen, die in verschiedenen Gesetzestexten enthaltenen Vorschriften (beispielsweise in den Bereichen Steuern, Sozialabgaben, Ausländerrecht) effizienter zu kontrollieren und Zuwiderhandlungen wesentlich strenger zu sanktionieren.

Mehr Informationen zu den Strafen und Sanktionen finden Sie auf folgenden Internetseiten:
www.sem.admin.ch/sem/de/home/themen/arbeit/schwarzarbeit/strafbestimmungen.html
www.seco.admin.ch/seco/de/home/Arbeit/Personenfreizugigkeit_Arbeitsbeziehungen/schwarzarbeit.html

Grenzgänger

Wer kann eine Grenzgängerbewilligung beantragen?

Grenzgängerinnen und Grenzgänger sind Bürgerinnen und Bürger, die in einem EU/EFTA-Staat wohnen und in der Schweiz arbeiten (Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer oder Selbstständige mit Firmensitz in der Schweiz). Es muss mindestens einmal pro Woche eine Rückkehr an den Hauptwohnsitz (im Ausland) erfolgen. Sofern sie während der Woche in der Schweiz wohnhaft sind, müssen sie sich bei ihrer Einwohnergemeinde anmelden. Die Grenzgängerbewilligung wird von den kantonalen Behörden des Arbeitsortes ausgestellt. Für Bürgerinnen und Bürger der EU-27/EFTA gelten keine Grenzzonen mehr, sie dürfen in der ganzen EU/EFTA wohnen und in der ganzen Schweiz arbeiten.

Kantonale Arbeitsmarktbehörden
Fact Sheet Grenzgänger

Ich bin Grenzgänger in der Schweiz. Wer kann meine Fragen beantworten?

Wenn Sie als Grenzgänger in der Schweiz arbeiten möchten oder bereits eine Grenzgängerbewilligung haben, finden Sie alle erforderlichen Informationen auf der Internetseite www.eures.ch/jobsch/info_grenzgaenger.