FAQ – Frequently asked questions

EURES Switzerland Services

Can EURES Switzerland help me find a job in Switzerland?
EURES Switzerland does not provide staffing services.

However, available vacancies in Switzerland can be consulted in the Jobseekers section (direct link: https://www.job-room.ch, available in GE/FR/IT) of our website.

We also recommend that you register with private staffing agencies: http://www.avg-seco.admin.ch, available in GE/FR/IT).

Unfortunately, we are unable to provide you with a list of employers, but you can search for jobs by linguistic region using the links below.

Can EURES Switzerland help me find a job in EU/EFTA countries?

EURES Switzerland does not provide staffing services.

You can visit our website at www.eures.ch/en/jobseu/information/ for general information on living and working in EU/EFTA countries.

Visit the EURES portal at https://ec.europa.eu/ ffor job vacancies in all EU/EFTA countries.

EURES advisers are available in each EU/EFTA country to provide more specific answers according to your personal circumstances (https://ec.europa.eu/eures/eures-apps/um/page/public?lang=en#/adviser/search/list). The EURES advisers of the country you wish to work in can provide guidance on how to compile job applications that are sensitive to the particular business culture.

For more information, please contact the EURES adviser for your canton.www.eures.ch/en/what/contacts/ .

Can EURES Switzerland help me prepare my curriculum vitae?

EURES Switzerland does not help candidates prepare their curriculum vitae. However, the following link provides useful information on how to put together a successful job application in Switzerland. http://www.eures.ch/en/downloads/brochures/tipp/.

Where can I obtain official recognition of my professional qualifications?
EURES Switzerland does not offer any services related to the recognition of foreign qualifications.

The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) evaluates professional qualifications and issues equivalency certificates. For more information, visit www.sbfi.admin.ch/sbfi/en/home/topics/recognition-of-foreign-qualifications.html.


Residence permits

On 9 February 2014, the popular initiative "Stop mass immigration" was approved by referendum. Can I still work in Switzerland?

Yes,as the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) is still in effect. The Federal Council has three years from the time of the referendum to introduce a new quota system for foreign workers. Until this new law takes effect, the rights of EU/EFTA nationals remain unchanged.

Do I have to secure a job before coming to Switzerland, or can I look for one after arriving ?

EU-27 (excluding Croatia)/EFTA nationals can search for a job after arriving in Switzerland. No permit is required for stays of less than three months. If no job is found within this time, the municipal or cantonal authorities will issue a short-term residence permit (EU/EFTA L permit) for the following three months.

EU-2 nationals (Bulgarians and Romanians) who would like to work in Switzerland are subject to current transitional provisions, namely the priority of the domestic workforce, salary and employment conditions, and a quota. A work and residence permit is always required for EU-2 nationals to work in Switzerland.

Work and residence permits must be issued by the appropriate cantonal employment authorities. Please refer to the questions under "Taking up residence and gainful employment").

I would like to work in Switzerland. How do I obtain a work permit?

For EU-27 (excluding Croatia)/EFTA nationals, your residence permit doubles as your work permit. However, this permit is only issued if you have a contractual statement from your employer or an employment contract. FAQ SEM: "Taking up residence and gainful employment").

I have found a job in Switzerland. What must I do to obtain a residence permit?
EU-27 (excluding Croatia)/EFTA

Employment for less than three months

EU-27/EFTA nationals working in Switzerland for no longer than three months per calendar year do not require a permit. However, they must still register with authorities through their employer. Additional information on registration.
Link to the registration:Notification procedures

Employment for more than three months

EU-27/EFTA nationals must register with municipal authorities at their place of residence and apply for a residence permit within 14 days of arrival, before beginning their jobYou must show a valid identification card or passport as well as a valid contractual statement or employment contract signed by the employer, indicating the employment duration and work-time percentage. Depending on the employment duration, authorities will issue a short-term residence permit (EU/EFTA L permit for periods of four months to 364 days) or a regular residence permit (EU/EFTA B permit for periods of one year or more).

You may begin the process for obtaining a residence permit once you have arrived in Switzerland. For information on the customs formalities required when importing your personal belongings, please visit the following page: Swiss Customs Administration

FAQ SEM.

Romania and Bulgaria (EU-2)

Employment with Swiss employer

Please note that, from June 1 2017 and for a year, Swiss and EU-25/EFTA nationals are given priority over you. This means employers must try to fill vacant positions with Swiss or EU-25/EFTA nationals before they can consider your application. If you are indeed hired, it is the employer's responsibility to apply for a work permit on your behalf from the relevant cantonal authorities
(Cantonal labour market authorities). To do so, your employer will be required to submit your employment contract.

Authorities base their decisions on the current transitional provisions regarding the following points:

  • Priority of domestic workforce:
    The employer must demonstrate that the position could not be filled with an equivalent candidate already authorised to work in Switzerland.
  • Salary and employment conditions:
    The contractual provisions must meet the conditions customary for the region and sector.
  • Quota:
    Only a limited number of permits are available. No permit will be granted if the quota has been filled.

If all of the above conditions are met, the permit may be granted. Please note, however, you are not automatically entitled to a permit. EU-2 nationals must have a work/residence permit to begin working for a Swiss employer. No exceptions will be made.

FAQ SEM: www.sem.admin.ch/sem/en/home/themen/fza_schweiz-eu-efta/eu-efta_buerger_schweiz/faq.html.

As a Croatian national, can I work in Switzerland?

Croatia's entry into the EU on 1 July 2013 has no bearing on the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) between Switzerland and the EU. The extension of the AFMP to Croatia was negotiated in protocol III, which came into force on 1 January 2017. During the first implementation period, special transitory measures with quotas and restrictions regarding the access to the labour market are applied on Croatian nationals.

More information regarding the admission of Croatian nationals in the factsheet "Croatia".
Press Release of 16 December 2016
Procedure

I am not a European national, but I have a residence permit for an EU/EFTA country. Do I need a work permit in Switzerland?

Yes, you still need a work permit even if you have an EU/EFTA residence permit. This requirement is based on your nationality. The admission of foreign workers into Switzerland is governed by a two-tier system. While EU/EFTA nationals can take advantage of the benefits of the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP), Switzerland only admits a limited number of workers from other countries, all of which are managers, specialists or other highly skilled personnel.

Third-state nationals are only admitted if the position cannot be filled by applicants from the Swiss or EU/EFTA labour markets. Priority is given to Swiss nationals, foreigners residing permanently in Switzerland, foreigners with a residence permit obtained for employment purposes and any national of countries party to the Agreement on Free Movement of Persons (currently the EU and EFTA). The employer must prove that he/she was unable to find a suitable candidate among the priority groups listed above despite his/her best efforts.

For more information, please visit the following pages:

Work: Legal basis for access to the Swiss labour market by foreign nationals
Entry: State Secretariat for Migration
FAQ – Frequently asked questions - SEM

A Swiss employer has asked me to send copies of my documents as well as money for residence permit fees. What should I do?

For EU-27 nationals

Always exercise caution when an employer contacts you by email requesting that you send copies of your identity papers and money for a residence permit. It could be a scam. In general, the employee must apply for his/her residence permit in person at the appropriate cantonal office. For a job lasting less than three months per year, it is the employer's responsibility to complete the registration procedure. Registration is usually free of charge. If any fees are incurred, they must be paid by the employer.

In any case, never give anyone your passport or identity card, and do not email copies of your passport or identity card without first verifying with EURES Switzerland or a Swiss trade union that the company is trustworthy.

For EU-2 nationals (Romania and Bulgaria)

Unlike EU-27 nationals, EU-2 nationals cannot apply for a work permit themselves. Rather, their employer must go to the appropriate cantonal authorities and apply on their behalf. This involves an application fee, which your employer may ask you to cover. For your protection, we recommend that you send the money only after you have received your work permit. If you have doubts about the amount you are being asked to pay, please contact EURES Switzerland or a Swiss trade union.

Unemployment insurance

I am a Swiss national living in the EU, and I have lost my job. Am I entitled to Swiss unemployment benefits?

If you return to Switzerland without first registering with the unemployment authorities of the country in which you were last employed, you will not be entitled to unemployment benefits in Switzerland. You can request European form PDU1 to certify your periods of employment in the EU country. If you remain unemployed in Switzerland, these periods can be added to any employed periods in Switzerland.

However, if you registered with the unemployment authorities of the country in which you were last employed and, as a result, receive unemployment benefits from them, , you can import these benefits to Switzerland. This requires European form PDU2. Benefits can be imported to Switzerland from EU countries for three to six months, depending on the EU country.

For more information, please contact the public employment services of the country in which you were last employed.

I am an EU national with an employment contract in Switzerland for less than one year. Am I entitled to unemployment benefits if I stay in Switzerland once my contract expires?

You may be. To receive unemployment benefits in Switzerland, you must prove that you were employed for at least 12 months. Although your job in Switzerland is less than a full year, you may still be able to meet this requirement. You can request European form PDU1 in the EU country where you worked before coming to Switzerland. This form certifies your periods of employment in that country, which will be added to the periods worked in Switzerland. If the total meets or exceeds 12 months, you are eligible for unemployment benefits in Switzerland.

For more information, please visit www.treffpunkt-arbeit.ch/publikationen/broschueren (available in GE/FR/IT).

I am an EU national living in Switzerland. My employment contract expires next month and I would like to return to my country of origin. What do I have to do?

If you return to your country of origin without first registering with Swiss unemployment authorities, you will not be entitled to unemployment benefits. You can request European form PDU1 from a Swiss unemployment office, which will certify your periods of employment in Switzerland. If you remain unemployed in your country of origin, these periods can be added to any periods during which you were previously employed there.

However, if you registered with Swiss unemployment authorities and, as a result, receive Swiss unemployment benefits, you can import these benefits to your country of origin. This requires European form PDU2. Swiss unemployment benefits can be exported to an EU country for a maximum of three months.

For more information, please visit: http://www.treffpunkt-arbeit.ch/publikationen/broschueren(available in GE/FR/IT).

Health insurance

Is health insurance mandatory in Switzerland?

Yes, health insurance is mandatory in Switzerland.

You must have health insurance if:

  • You are domiciled in Switzerland, regardless of nationality. Health insurance must be obtained for each member of the family, adult or child. There is no collective family coverage
  • You have a residence permit for three months or longer
  • You work in Switzerland for less than three months and your health insurance at home does not meet Swiss requirements
  • You are a Swiss or EU/EFTA national working in Switzerland, and you are domiciled in the EU, Iceland or Norway. This also applies to unemployed members of your family
  • You are a Swiss or EU/EFTA national receiving a Swiss pension only, and you are domiciled in the EU, Iceland or Norway. This also applies to unemployed members of your family
  • You are receiving unemployment benefits in Switzerland, and you travel to an EU/EFTA country for three months in search of a job
  • You are temporarily posted abroad by your Swiss employer. You are required to have Swiss health insurance for the duration of your posting. Additional instructions are provided in the information material on social security

For more information, please visit the site of the Federal Office of Public Health, Health insurance, the Essentials in Brief .

Taxes

I am an EU/EFTA national who will be living and working in Switzerland. How do I pay my taxes?

Foreign workers without a permit C (permanent residence permit) are subject to withholding tax. All others file an ordinary tax return as per the usual procedure.

Withholding tax is taken directly from the foreign worker's income, usually through a payroll deduction by the employer. This applies to:

  • Foreign workers who are resident in Switzerland for tax purposes but who do not have a permanent residence permit (permit C)
  • Foreign workers who are not resident in Switzerland for tax purposes but whose income is derived from employment in Switzerland (cross-border commuters, weekend commuters, lecturers, athletes, artists, etc.)
  • In addition, foreign workers domiciled in Switzerland must file a full income and wealth tax return for the preceding year if their annual income exceeds CHF 120,000.

    The withholding tax rate varies from canton to canton. For more information, please contact the appropriate cantonal administration (available in GE/FR/IT).

    Employers

    I run a business in Switzerland and would like to post an employee in an EU/EFTA country for a few months. What do I have to do?

    Under certain conditions, employees temporarily posted to another country are still subject to the social security laws of the sending country. For more information, please refer to the brochures Social Security for Posted Workers between Switzerland and the EU (in German, French or Italian) and and Social Security for Posted Workers between Switzerland and the EFTA (in German, French or Italian).

    I run a business in the EU/EFTA and would like to post an employee to Switzerland for a few months. What do I have to do?

    Information on postings is available online at www.détachement.ch (available in GE/FR/IT) and Posted workers . Both Swiss and foreign employers will find details on employment and salary conditions in Switzerland and its various cantons, along with web addresses and useful links.

    How does Switzerland define illegal employment?

    There is no absolute legal definition of illegal employment. It is generally understood to be salaried or self-employed work that violates legal stipulations. This can range from small-scale artisanal work performed outside of business hours to exclusive, illegal employment that evades tax, social security, anti-trust and especially foreigners-rights laws. The various forms of illegal employment usually exist to avoid taxes either fully or partially.

    The Federal Act on Measures to Combat Illegal Employment (IEA), in effect since 1 January 2008, enables cantonal watchdogs to enforce more effectively various laws on taxes, social security charges and foreigners' rights, to name a few. It also sanctions violations more severely.

    For more information on penalties and sanctions, please visit
    www.sem.admin.ch >Labour / Work permits >Illegal employment (available in GE/FR/IT).
    www.seco.admin.ch, illegal employment(available in GE/FR/IT).

    Cross-border commuters

    Who can apply for a cross-border commuter permit?

    Cross-border commuters are EU/EFTA nationals living in their country of citizenship and working in Switzerland as salaried employees or self-employed individuals with a Swiss-registered business. They must return to their primary residence (outside Switzerland) at least once a week. Cross-border commuters who remain in Switzerland during the week must register with the municipality of their secondary residence. Cross-border permits are issued by the cantonal authorities of the place of work. EU-27/EFTA nationals are no longer restricted to border zones. They may live in any EU/EFTA country and work anywhere in Switzerland. However, EU-2 nationals (Bulgarians and Romanians) must live and work within a border zone.

    Cantonal labour market authorities
    Factsheet on cross-border commuters (French)

    I am a cross-border commuter working in Switzerland. Whom can I contact with my questions?

    If you are or would like to become a cross-border commuter, please visit www.eures.ch/fr/jobsch/info_grenzgaenger (available in DE/FR/IT) to obtain the necessary information.

FAQ – Foire aux questions

Services EURES Suisse

Est-ce que EURES Suisse peut m'aider à trouver un travail en Suisse ?
EURES Suisse n'effectue pas de placement direct.

La rubrique "Demandeurs d'emploi" (lien direct: https://www.job-room.ch de notre site Internet vous donne accès aux places vacantes annoncées en Suisse.

Nous vous recommandons de vous inscrire aussi auprès de placeurs privés http://www.avg-seco.admin.ch.

Nous ne disposons malheureusement d'aucune liste d'employeurs. Par contre, vous trouverez ci-dessous des liens utiles pour vos recherches en fonction de la région linguistique suisse :

Est-ce que EURES Suisse peut m'aider à trouver un travail dans l'UE/AELE?

EURES Suisse n'effectue pas de placement direct.

Sur notre page internet www.eures.ch/fr/jobseu/informations vous trouvez des informations générales sur les conditions de vie et de travail dans les pays de l'UE/AELE.

Sur le portail EURES https://ec.europa.eu/ vous trouvez les postes vacants publiés dans tous les pays de l'UE/AELE.

Dans tous les pays de l'UE/AELE il y a des conseillers EURES qui peuvent vous donner des réponses plus personnalisées (https://ec.europa.eu/eures/eures-apps/um/page/public?lang=fr#/adviser/search/list). Les conseillers EURES de votre pays de destination pourront vous donner des conseils utiles pour créer un dossier de candidature qui soit en adéquation avec la culture du recrutement du pays.

Pour des informations plus détaillées vous pouvez contacter le conseiller EURES de votre cantonhttp://www.eures.ch/fr/what/contacts/.

Est-ce que EURES Suisse peut m'aider à rédiger mon CV ?

EURES Suisse ne prévoit pas ce service. Cependant vous trouvez toutes les informations nécessaires pour faire une bonne candidature en Suisse à la page internet : http://www.eures.ch/fr/downloads/brochures/tipp/.

Qui peut faire reconnaitre mon diplôme ?
EURES Suisse n'est pas compétent pour la reconnaissance des diplômes étrangers.

Le Secrétariat d'Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l'innovation (SEFRI) évalue les diplômes professionnels et émet des certificats d'équivalence.
Pour plus d'informations : www.sbfi.admin.ch/sbfi/fr/home/themen/diploma.html.


Permis de séjour

Le 9 février 2014, le peuple suisse a voté en faveur de l'initiative populaire " Contre l'immigration de masse ", puis-je encore venir travailler en Suisse ?

Oui, pour l'instant l'Accord sur la libre circulation (ALCP) s'applique toujours. Le Conseil fédéral se voit dans l'obligation d'introduire un nouveau système d'admission pour les étrangers, et ceci dans les trois ans qui suivent la votation. Jusqu'à ce que la nouvelle loi n'entre en vigueur les citoyens de l'UE/AELE gardent les mêmes droits.

Dois-je avoir trouvé un emploi avant de me rendre en Suisse ou puis-je en chercher un sur place?

Les ressortissants de l'UE-27 (sans Croatie)/AELE peuvent venir en Suisse pour y chercher du travail. Ils n'ont pas besoin d'autorisation tant qu'ils ne séjournent pas plus de trois mois. Si leurs recherches d'emploi durent plus longtemps, l'autorité communale ou cantonale leur remet une autorisation de séjour de courte durée (livret L UE/AELE), valable pour les trois mois suivants.

L'autorisation de séjour et de travail doit être délivrée par l'autorité cantonale compétente en matière d'emploi (voir le chapitre "Séjour dans le but d'exercer une activité lucrative").

J'aimerais travailler en Suisse. Quand recevrai-je une autorisation de travail?

Les citoyens de l'UE-27 (sans Croatie)/AELE n'ont besoin que d'une autorisation de séjour, qui vaut également comme autorisation de travail. Une telle autorisation n'est cependant délivrée que si l'intéressé présente une déclaration d'engagement ou une attestation de travail (contrat de travail). FAQ SEM: "Séjour dans le but d’exercer une activité lucrative").

J'ai trouvé un travail en Suisse. Quelles démarches dois-je entreprendre pour obtenir un permis de séjour?
UE-27 (sans Croatie)/AELE

Exercice d'une activité lucrative ne dépassant pas trois mois

Les ressortissants de l'UE-27/AELE qui prennent un emploi en Suisse pour une durée maximale de trois mois sur l'année civile n'ont pas besoin d'une autorisation relevant du droit des étrangers. Ils doivent toutefois remplir une déclaration d'annonce via l'employeur. Davantage d'informations sur la déclaration d'annonce.
Lien vers la déclaration d'annonce: enregistrement

Exercice d'une activité lucrative pendant plus de trois mois

Dans les 14 jours qui suivent leur arrivée en Suisse mais avant de débuter leur activité, les citoyens de l'UE-27/AELE sont tenus de déclarer leur arrivée auprès de leur commune de résidence afin de demander une autorisation de séjour. Pour ce faire, ils doivent présenter une carte d'identité (ou un passeport) en cours de validité, de même qu'une déclaration d'engagement ou une attestation de travail signée par leur employeur (contrat de travail indiquant notamment la durée de l'engagement et le taux d'occupation). Selon la durée d'activité, les autorités délivrent une autorisation de séjour de courte durée (livret L UE/AELE pour une durée allant de 4 mois à 364 jours d'emploi) ou une autorisation de séjour (livret B UE/AELE pour une durée d'au moins un an).

Les démarches à accomplir pour obtenir une autorisation de séjour peuvent être entreprises une fois en Suisse. Pour ce qui est des formalités douanières à effectuer lorsque vous passerez la frontière avec vos effets personnels, nous vous conseillons de cliquer sur ce lien: Administration fédérale des douanes

FAQ SEM: www.sem.admin.ch/sem/fr/home/themen/fza_schweiz-eu-efta/eu-efta_buerger_schweiz/faq.html
Je suis ressortissant croate. Puis-je travailler en Suisse?

Le 1er juillet 2013, la Croatie est entrée dans l'UE. Cette adhésion n'a pas d'incidence sur l'Accord libre circulation (ALCP) conclu entre la Suisse et l'UE. accès au marché du travail suisse aux mêmes conditions que les ressortissant EU-27. L’extension de l’Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes à la Croatie a été négociée dans le protocole III, lequel est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017. Dans une première période de mise en œuvre, des mesures transitoires contenant des restrictions liées au marché du travail ainsi que des quotas s’appliquent vis-à-vis des ressortissants croates.

Vous trouverez plus d'informations dans le Factsheet "Croatie"
Communiqué du 16 décembre 2016
Déroulement de la procédure

Je ne suis pas citoyen européen mais j'ai un permis de résidence dans un pays de l'UE/AELE, ai-je besoin d'un permis de travail en Suisse ?

Oui, vous avez besoin d'un permis de travail même si vous avez un permis de résidence dans un pays de l'UE/AELE. C'est votre nationalité qui compte. En effet, en Suisse, l'admission de la main-d'œuvre étrangère est régie par un système binaire. Les travailleurs provenant des pays de l'UE/AELE bénéficient des avantages découlant de l'Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP). En revanche, seul un nombre limité de cadres, spécialistes ou autres travailleurs hautement qualifiés d'autres pays est admis.

L'admission des ressortissants d'Etats tiers n'est envisageable que si aucun travailleur n'est disponible ni sur le marché du travail intérieur ni sur les marchés du travail de l'UE/AELE. Bénéficient de la priorité les citoyens suisses, les étrangers établis, les étrangers titulaires d'une autorisation de séjour octroyée en vue de l'exercice d'une activité lucrative, ainsi que tous les ressortissants de pays avec lesquels un accord sur la libre circulation a été conclu (actuellement l'UE et l'AELE). L'employeur doit apporter la preuve qu'il n'a pas trouvé le personnel requis, malgré les efforts consentis, parmi les travailleurs bénéficiant de ladite priorité.

Vous trouverez plus de détails sur les pages Internet :

Travail: Bases régissant l’admission de ressortissants étrangers sur le marché suisse de l’emploi
Entrée: Secrétariat d’Etat aux migrations
FAQ – Foire aux questions - SEM

Un employeur suisse m'a demandé de lui envoyer une copie de mes documents et de lui verser de l'argent pour les frais du permis de séjour, que dois-je faire ?

Pour les citoyens de l'UE-27

Si un employeur vous contacte par courriel et vous demande de lui envoyer une copie de vos documents d'identité et une somme d'argent pour les frais de gestion du permis de séjour, méfiez-vous ! Cela pourrait être une escroquerie. Généralement, c'est le travailleur lui-même qui doit se rendre à l'Office cantonal compétent pour faire sa demande de permis de séjour. Dans le cas d'une activité de moins de trois mois par année c'est à l'employeur qu'incombe l'obligation de vous déclarer (procédure d'annonce), cette annonce est généralement gratuite et si elle engendre de coûts ils doivent être pris en charge par l'employeur.

Dans tous les cas ne confiez jamais votre passeport/carte d'identité à qui que ce soit et ne transmettez pas par courriel une photocopie de votre passeport/carte d'identité sans avoir vérifié auprès de EURES Suisse ou d'un syndicat suisse si l'entreprise est fiable.

Assurance-chômage

Je suis suisse, je vis dans l'UE et j'ai perdu mon emploi. Ai-je droit au chômage en Suisse ?

Si vous rentrez en Suisse, sans vous inscrire auprès des autorités de l'assurance-chômage du pays de votre dernier emploi, vous ne pourrez prétendre à des indemnités chômage en Suisse. Vous pouvez réclamer le formulaire européen PDU1 qui attestera vos périodes d'emploi réalisées sans ce pays. En cas de chômage en Suisse, ces périodes d'emploi pourront être additionnées aux périodes réalisées sur le territoire suisse.

Par contre, si vous vous inscrivez auprès des autorités de l'assurance-chômage de votre dernier pays d'emploi et que vous y touchez des indemnités, vous pouvez exporter vos prestations de chômage. Pour cela vous avez besoin du formulaire européen PDU2. La durée de l'exportation varie de 3 à 6 mois selon les pays (sens de l'exportation : UE vers CH = 3 à 6 mois).

Pour plus d'informations, adressez-vous auprès du Service public de l'emploi de votre pays de dernier emploi.

Je suis citoyen de l'UE et j'ai un contrat de travail de moins d'une année en Suisse, ai-je droit aux indemnités de l'assurance chômage à la fin de mon contrat si je reste en Suisse?

Ça dépend ! En Suisse pour avoir droit à l'assurance-chômage vous devez pourvoir justifier d'au moins 12 moins d'activité salariée. Votre dernier emploi ne vous permettra pas de remplir cette condition, il existe toutefois un moyen pour y parvenir. Vous pouvez réclamer le formulaire européen PDU1 dans le pays UE qui vous employait avant votre emploi en Suisse. Ce formulaire attestera vos périodes d'emploi réalisées dans ce pays. Ces dernières seront additionnées aux périodes réalisées sur le territoire suisse et si elles atteignent 12 mois elles vous permettront d'obtenir le chômage en Suisse.

Pour plus d'informations : www.espace-emploi.ch/publikationen/broschueren.

Je suis citoyen de l'UE et je vis en Suisse. Dans un mois je vais perdre mon emploi, je souhaite rentrer dans mon pays d'origine, que dois-je faire ?

Si vous rentrez dans votre pays d'origine sans vous inscrire auprès des autorités de l'assurance-chômage suisse, vous ne pourrez y prétendre à des indemnités chômage. Vous pouvez réclamer le formulaire européen PDU1 auprès d'une caisse de chômage suisse, ce formulaire attestera vos périodes d'emploi réalisées en Suisse. En cas de chômage dans votre pays d'origine, ces périodes d'emploi pourront être additionnées aux périodes réalisées sur le territoire de votre pays.

Par contre, si vous vous inscrivez auprès des autorités de l'assurance-chômage en Suisse et que vous y touchez des indemnités, vous pouvez exporter vos prestations chômage vers votre pays d'origine. Pour cela vous avez besoin du formulaire européen PDU2. La durée de l'exportation dure au maximum 3 mois (sens de l'exportation : CH vers UE = 3 mois max).

Pour plus d'informations : www.espace-emploi.ch/publikationen/broschueren.

Assurance maladie

L'assurance-maladie est-elle obligatoire en Suisse ?

Oui, l'assurance-maladie est obligatoire en Suisse.

Vous devez prendre une assurance:

  • Si vous êtes domicilié en Suisse (quelle que soit votre nationalité). La couverture d'assurance est individuelle pour les adultes comme pour les enfants (pas d'assurance familiale).
  • Si vous avez un permis de séjour valable de 3 mois ou plus.
  • Si vous travaillez en Suisse pour une courte durée (moins de trois mois) et que votre couverture d'assurance n'est pas équivalente à celle de l'assurance-maladie suisse.
  • Si vous êtes Suisse ou ressortissant d'un Etat membre de l'UE ou de l'AELE, que vous travaillez en Suisse et êtes domicilié dans un pays de l'UE, en Islande ou en Norvège. Cela vaut aussi pour les membres de votre famille sans activité lucrative.
  • Si, en votre qualité de citoyen suisse ou de ressortissant d'un pays de l'UE ou de l'AELE, vous bénéficiez exclusivement d'une rente suisse et êtes domicilié dans un pays de l'UE, en Islande ou en Norvège. Cela vaut aussi pour les membres de votre famille sans activité lucrative.
  • Si vous percevez des allocations chômage de Suisse et que vous vous rendez dans un pays de l'UE ou de l'AELE pendant 3 mois afin de chercher du travail.
  • Si vous travaillez pour votre employeur suisse temporairement dans un autre pays, vous restez soumis à l'assurance-maladie suisse pendant la durée du détachement. Vous trouverez des renseignements supplémentaires dans les fiches d'information sur la sécurité sociale.

Pour plus d'informations veuillez consulter la page de l'Office fédéral de la santé publique: Assurance-maladie, l'essentiel en bref.

Impôts

Je suis citoyen de l'UE/AELE et je vais vivre et travailler en Suisse. Où dois-je payer mes impôts?

Les travailleurs étrangers qui ne sont pas titulaires d'un permis C (autorisation d'établissement) sont soumis à l'impôt à la source. Les autres remplissent une déclaration de revenus, conformément à la procédure de taxation ordinaire.

L'impôt à la source est prélevé directement sur le revenu du travailleur étranger, soit généralement par l'employeur sur le salaire. Sont concernés :

  • les travailleurs étrangers qui, bien que domiciliés fiscalement en Suisse, ne sont pas titulaires d'une autorisation d'établissement (permis C).
  • les travailleurs étrangers qui ne sont pas domiciliés fiscalement en Suisse et qui perçoivent un revenu issu d'une activité exercée en Suisse (frontaliers, résidents à la semaine, conférenciers, sportifs, artistes, etc.).
  • Les travailleurs étrangers domiciliés en Suisse font par ailleurs l'objet a posteriori d'une taxation ordinaire ultérieure sur l'ensemble des revenus et de la fortune lorsque leur revenu dépasse 120'000 CHF.

    Le niveau de l'impôt à la source varie d'un canton à l'autre. Pour en savoir davantage, prenez contact avec l'administration cantonale concernée. .

    Employeurs

    J'ai une entreprise en Suisse et je souhaite détacher un de mes employés dans un pays de l'UE/AELE pendant quelques mois, que dois-je faire ?

    Les salariés qui travaillent temporairement dans un autre pays pour le compte de leur employeur restent, en matière de sécurité sociale, assujettis à la législation de leur pays d'origine si certaines conditions sont remplies. Vous trouverez des informations détaillées dans le mémento sur la sécurité sociale des travailleurs détachés entre la Suisse et l'UE et le mémento sur La sécurité sociale des travailleurs détachés entre la Suisse et l'AELE.

    J'ai une entreprise dans l'UE/AELE et je souhaite détacher un de mes employés en Suisse pendant quelques mois, que dois-je faire ?

    La page internet www.detachement.ch est une plateforme d'information sur le thème du détachement. Les employeurs étrangers et suisses trouvent des informations sur les conditions de travail et de salaires en Suisse et dans ses différents cantons tout comme des adresses de sites et de contacts susceptibles de leur fournir des informations complémentaires.

    Qu'est-ce qu'est le travail au noir en Suisse ?

    Il n'existe pas de définition juridique univoque du travail au noir. On entend généralement par travail au noir une activité salariée ou indépendante exercée en violation des prescriptions légales. Cela peut aller de l'exécution de petits travaux artisanaux en dehors des heures de travail à l'exercice illégal exclusif d'une activité lucrative en contournement du droit fiscal, du droit des assurances sociales, du droit de la concurrence et en particulier du droit des étrangers. Les différentes formes de travail au noir ont généralement pour point commun d'échapper complètement ou pour partie aux redevances de droit public.

    La loi fédérale concernant des mesures en matière de lutte contre le travail au noir (LTN), en vigueur à partir du 1er janvier 2008, permet aux organes de contrôle cantonaux de contrôler plus efficacement les dispositions figurant dans les divers textes de loi (par exemple dans les domaines de la fiscalité, des charges sociales et du droit des étrangers) et de sanctionner les infractions de manière beaucoup plus stricte.

    Pour de plus amples informations sur les peines et les sanctions veuillez consulter les pages internet :
    www.sem.admin.ch/sem/fr/home/themen/arbeit/schwarzarbeit/strafbestimmungen.html
    www.seco.admin.ch/seco/fr/home/Arbeit/Personenfreizugigkeit_Arbeitsbeziehungen/schwarzarbeit.html

    Frontaliers

    Qui peut demander une autorisation pour frontalier?

    Les frontaliers sont des citoyens qui vivent dans un Etat de l'UE/AELE et travaillent en Suisse (salariés ou indépendants dont le siège de l'entreprise est implanté en Suisse). Ces travailleurs sont tenus de rentrer à leur domicile principal (à l'étranger) au moins une fois par semaine. S'ils séjournent en Suisse pendant la semaine, ils doivent s'annoncer auprès de la commune de résidence. L'autorisation pour frontaliers est délivrée par les autorités cantonales du lieu d'activité. Les ressortissants UE-25/AELE ne sont plus soumis à des zones frontalières ; ils peuvent vivre dans n'importe quel Etat de l'UE/AELE et travailler n'importe où en Suisse. S'agissant des citoyens de l'UE-2 (Bulgarie et Romanie), le lieu de domicile et le lieu de travail doivent, par contre, se trouver dans une zone frontalière.

    Autorités cantonales de l'emploi
    Factsheet sur les frontaliers

    Je suis frontalier en Suisse qui peut répondre à mes questions ?

    Si vous souhaitez travailler en Suisse comme frontalier ou vous avez déjà un statut de frontalier vous trouvez toutes les informations nécessaires à la page internet www.eures.ch/fr/jobsch/info_grenzgaenger.