Logo SECO

About us

The Labour Directorate in the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) is the federal government's centre of excellence for labour market policy. We at the Labour Directorate strive to ensure fair and up-to-date working conditions and a flexible labour market. Our responsibilities include employee protection, unemployment insurance and job placement. Under the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons, we safeguard wage and working conditions and fight illegal employment. We also represent Switzerland within the International Labour Organization and are committed to promoting the social dimension of globalisation.

The Labour Market/Unemployment Insurance Division within the Labour Directorate in the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs is responsible for implementing the Unemployment Insurance Act. Our partners in the cantons which assist in carrying out this task are the cantonal offices (KAST), the regional employment centres (RAV) and the logistics offices for labour market measures (LAM) as well as public private unemployment insurance funds (ALK). In cooperation with these partners and other labour market institutions, unemployment insurance offers unemployed persons an adequate compensatory income and helps jobseekers to achieve a quick and lasting reintegration onto the labour market.

Together with the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA and our cantonal partners, we also work with the EURES network (EURopean Employment Services), thus contributing to the mobility of workers within the countries of the European Union (EU) and the EFTA (European Free Trade Association).

Logo SECO

Qui sommes nous?

La Direction du travail du Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie (SECO) est le centre de compétences de la Confédération pour la politique du marché du travail. Elle veille à ce que les conditions de travail en Suisse soient équitables et adaptées à notre époque tout en s'attachant à ce que le marché du travail reste flexible. Elle est chargée de la protection des travailleurs, de l'assurance-chômage ainsi que du service de l'emploi. Dans le cadre de la libre circulation des personnes, elle vérifie que les conditions de travail et de salaires en vigueur en Suisse sont appliquées et elle lutte contre le travail au noir. Par ailleurs, elle représente la Suisse auprès de l'Organisation internationale du travail et s'engage pour que la mondialisation prenne un visage plus social.

Le centre de prestations Marché du travail et assurance-chômage de la Direction du travail du Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie est en charge de la loi sur l'assurance-chômage. Divers partenaires l'aident dans l'exécution de ses tâches, à savoir; les autorités cantonales (ACt), les offices régionaux de placement (ORP), les services de logistique des mesures relatives au marché du travail (LMMT) ainsi que les caisses de chômage publiques ou privées. Ensemble, ils luttent contre le chômage et veillent à ce que les chômeurs touchent un revenu de substitution adapté. Ils s'engagent également pour que les demandeurs d'emploi réintègrent rapidement et durablement le marché du travail.

En outre, nous coopérons avec le Département fédéral des affaires étrangères DFAE et nos partenaires cantonaux au réseau EURES (EURopean Employment Services) afin de soutenir la mobilité des travailleurs au sein de l'Union européenne (UE) et de l'AELE (Association européenne de libre-échange).