Logo SECO

About us

The Labour Directorate in the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) is the federal government's centre of excellence for labour market policy. We at the Labour Directorate strive to ensure fair and up-to-date working conditions and a flexible labour market. Our responsibilities include employee protection, unemployment insurance and job placement. Under the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons, we safeguard wage and working conditions and fight illegal employment. We also represent Switzerland within the International Labour Organization and are committed to promoting the social dimension of globalisation.

The Labour Market/Unemployment Insurance Division within the Labour Directorate in the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs is responsible for implementing the Unemployment Insurance Act. Our partners in the cantons which assist in carrying out this task are the cantonal offices (KAST), the regional employment centres (RAV) and the logistics offices for labour market measures (LAM) as well as public private unemployment insurance funds (ALK). In cooperation with these partners and other labour market institutions, unemployment insurance offers unemployed persons an adequate compensatory income and helps jobseekers to achieve a quick and lasting reintegration onto the labour market.

Together with the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA and our cantonal partners, we also work with the EURES network (EURopean Employment Services), thus contributing to the mobility of workers within the countries of the European Union (EU) and the EFTA (European Free Trade Association).

Logo Eures

Logo SECO

Über uns

Die Direktion für Arbeit des Staatssekretariates für Wirtschaft (SECO) ist das Kompetenzzentrum des Bundes für die Arbeitsmarktpolitik. Sie sorgt für faire und zeitgemässe Arbeitsbedingungen und einen flexiblen Arbeitsmarkt. Der Arbeitnehmerschutz, die Arbeitslosenversicherung und die Arbeitsvermittlung liegt in ihrer Verantwortung. Im Rahmen der Personenfreizügigkeit sichert sie die Lohn- und Arbeitsbedingungen und bekämpft die Schwarzarbeit. Ferner vertritt sie die Schweiz bei der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation und setzt sich für eine soziale Dimension der Globalisierung ein.

Als Leistungsbereich Arbeitsmarkt/Arbeitslosenversicherung der Direktion für Arbeit des Staatssekretariates für Wirtschaft sind wir für das Arbeitslosenversicherungsgesetz verantwortlich. Partner, die uns bei der Durchführung dieser Aufgaben mithelfen, sind in den Kantonen: die kantonalen Amtsstellen (KAST), die Regionalen Arbeitsvermittlungszentren (RAV) und die Logistikstellen für arbeitsmarktliche Massnahmen (LAM) sowie die öffentlichen und privaten Arbeitslosenkassen (ALK). Zusammen bekämpfen wir die Arbeitslosigkeit und sorgen für ein angemessenes Ersatzeinkommen sowie für eine rasche und dauerhafte Wiedereingliederung der Stellensuchenden in den Arbeitsmarkt.

Mit dem Eidgenössischen Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten EDA und unseren kantonalen Partnern kooperieren wir desweiteren im EURES-Netz (EURopean Employment Services) und unterstützen dabei die Mobilität der Arbeitsnehmenden innerhalb der Länder der Europäischen Union (EU) und der EFTA (Europäischen Freihandelsassoziation).